Day 50: A letter to your reflection in the mirror

On the 16th of November I started this journey and I could have been finished a long time ago but some of these posts I really had to think about and others I just didn’t really want to write.  This final post I didn’t want to write…

I don’t like looking in the mirror.  Who has time to sit and look in the mirror? And if I really looked I’d notice that I should start to wear make-up again especially with the appearance of wrinkles.  And WAIT, is that ANOTHER gray hair?  Also remember that time I had a chest… and then I went and cut it all off.  Yes my back feels better with out the extra ‘baggage’ but a girl gets used to seeing certain things when she looks in the mirror.  But that’s a WHOLE other story that I won’t bore you with.

Despite all that, HERE IT IS!  The final day of my 50 Day journey… that I started 139 days ago.

Dear girl in the mirror,

You do know you aren’t as old or unattractive as you sometimes think you are.  If you don’t realize that then I might need to kick you… but that might break the mirror and I really don’t need that much bad luck.

I like your new haircut, I know you are taking a while to get used to it, but I think it is good for you to HAVE to do it and not be able to put it in a ponytail or bun all the time.  It’s not 1890 and maybe your hairstyle should reflect that.

While your body doesn’t always bring you joy, and some of its major internal parts like to give you grief (blasted heart) it all still works (to some degree).  Take advantage of that!  Walk, run, play, fly kites, go to the park, swing on swings, go swimming even if you don’t want to wear a suit, BE a kid WITH your kids.  They will never be as young as they are today, and neither will you.  No excuses mommy, go play.

Quit being hard on yourself and LOVE yourself.  You deserve it.  The rest of the world will be hard on you, you need to be kinder.

Love,

Me, well you… ok us.

So there it is.  This post could have been interpreted a million different ways but that’s the direction I decided to take.  Thanks for joining me on this 139 day journey of 50 blog posts all about me… now let’s get back to the family ok!

Peace, Love, and happy days.

One thought on “Day 50: A letter to your reflection in the mirror

  1. I’m such a bad example, what with my slacking. I do find it funny that you finished before me. And I haven’t nearly your excuse. It’s been fun to read your posts though, and I’ll be at the finish line before long. Really.

Leave a Reply

