Day 10: A letter to a person who has caused you pain

Dear Tommy,

We were young weren’t we.  I’d like to hope and pray that we have both grown from our nasty divorce.  It was so hard always being scared of you and emotionally battered down and I pray that no one ever has to go through that.  I loved you with all my heart but there reaches a point where the body and soul can’t take anymore.  It’s been a long time since I saw or spoke to you and I just wanted to let you know that I forgive you.  I love the person I am now, and I wouldn’t be that person if we hadn’t gone through all we went through.

I still have scars, I wish it was all over but I still sometimes flash back or have nightmares with painful memories.  I think poor Jeremy has had to put up with a lot of emotional baggage because of our relationship and that just isn’t fair to him.  I sometimes feel like I was a better wife to you because I took care of you, cooked and cleaned more, but then I realize I did it out of fear.  No one should have to fear someone they love so much.

You have potential to be such a great person (and hopefully you are now)!  I wouldn’t have married you if you didn’t, the dark side of things just seemed to control you when we were together.  I hope you have more balance now and can be happy.  I try to focus on the good things, and happy memories we shared and I hope you do the same.

I wish you and your family all the best, and hope life is better for you now.  You have a great extended family who loves you very much, learn to lean on them. We were just one of those couples that was worse together, we seemed to bring out that bad part of one another and I’m sorry if I ever hurt you.

Love,

Bobbie

3 thoughts on “Day 10: A letter to a person who has caused you pain

  1. Breaks my heart to read your post. I am glad that you are a better person because of the challenges you have gone through.

Leave a Reply

