Big Boy Bed

I have found the transition from crib to bed an interesting one.  Watching JD grow up has been bittersweet so far.  I’m sure it won’t get any easier but it was really hard to get him out of the crib and watch him learn to sleep in a bed for the first time.  I want him to stay my little baby and it’s just not going to happen.  Something about the bed seems to be making him grow up twice as fast.  He is learning all kinds of new things and just acting way to old.  His first night in the bed he also came down with a pretty bad cold.  He was up at 1am and didnt’ really go back to sleep till around 4:30am or so.  I got about 1 hour of sleep before having to get up and go to clinic.  I was so worn out and couldn’t believe I did all 5 massages, but I was blissful at the same time.  I enjoyed cuddling with my sick little boy in his little bed.  He was so sweet.  Every time I thought he’d dozed off he’d turn his head, put his hand on my cheek and say “mom”.  I couldn’t get over that it was just one of  those moments I’d never be able to get back but always treasure.  I’m thankful for the opportunity to enjoy the experience and not just be worried about working the next morning.

I’m in the process of getting fabric to make JD a quilt.  I found some comforters on clearance but none of them looked good so I returned them all and now I’m starting from scratch.  Not necessarly the cheapest way to go since the others were on clearance but it’ll be worth it.  I still remember the quilts I had on my bed growing up that mom made for us, so I’m glad to do the same for Deeds.  The upside is that Jeremy and I did replace our California King comforter the other day with a clearance find for only $20.

One thought on “Big Boy Bed

  1. I can’t believe how fast kids grow up either. My little boy is already six and in Kindergarten and my baby girl is 4 and in pre-school. Time flies. We as parents need to cherish every moment because before to long they will be moving out. I can’t believe that next month me and my husband will be married for 9 years. WOW!! Are we getting old or what? I feel like I am still young enough to be in highschool, then I go to the store and I don’t even get IDed (?) anymore.

Leave a Reply

