The Funeral

Sometimes at funerals you feel like they are making someone out to be something they weren’t.  I do believe it’s good to remember someone is a positive light, just not to make them sound like they were nothing but perfect.  People when I die don’t sugar coat it too much ok.  Paul’s funeral was different, I felt like it was almost understated what an amazing man he was.  I feel really blessed to have known him while he was here, and it’ll be nice to see him again after I pass on.  His smile just made you feel better.  I remember talking to him a bit after my divorce and he was an amazing support, and truly gave me hope.

During the funeral on Saturday his wife was talking about Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture.  I have heard some hoopla about the book but never picked it up to read.  I now want to.  She said that reading it reminded her of Paul and his way of thinking.  I recorded some of her talk on my blackberry and I was listening to it again tonight.  My favorite quote has just become:

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people!” -Randy Pausch

I love it.  LOVE IT!  I plan to track down a copy of the book and read it.  Thanks Patty for sharing with us, and thanks Bryan for being my best friend so that I could get to know your dad a little.

4 thoughts on “The Funeral

  1. I read an article about his book, and I agree, it sounds like something I want to read too, I just never got around to getting it. Sometimes I have difficulty going there. Maybe we could read it together.

    I don’t know Bryan well, but he has been on my mind alot lately, which is saying something considering how little space is available. Since I know what it was like to go through the cancer and death of my father, my heart goes out to him and his family. The days after the funeral can make you feel like the balloon after all the air is let out. He is so lucky to have a best friend like you.

  2. Randy’s Last Lecture was good! He had such a perspective on life I thought was wonderful. I am glad that the funeral went smoothly and that you were able to support Bry. LOVES.

  3. Thanks for letting me go with you to the funeral. The gloomy rainy day was fitting. He was truly an amazing man and you’re right… it will be good to see him again on the other side.

    Knowing Paul helps you understand why Bryan is the terrific guy he is. Even when you know it’s coming it’s always hard for those left behind and they will remain in our prayers still.

  4. Hey Bobbie! Just clicked on the link from Alisha’s blog..thought I would check you out! 🙂

    I loved that quote! Funerals are so sad…I have been to too many! Chrissie is right Bryan is lucky to have a friend like you! I lost both of my parents to cancer..the battle and then losing them is enought to last a few lifetimes…so its good to have friends for that loving support!

    Oh and by the way you better not switch to day class!…(I understand if you do) but you better not! 🙂

Leave a Reply

