Good Book

Marley & Me

I loved the book Marley & Me, it took me just over a day to read.  I laughed, smiled and cried through the entire thing.  As many of you know I’m a dog lover.  I get it from my father, and I’m glad he passed on the love to me.  At the end of the book John Grogan says:

“Was it possible for a dog – any dog, but especially a nutty, wildly uncontrollable one like ours – to point humans to the things that really mattered in life? I believed it was. Loyalty. Courage. Devotion. Simplicity. Joy. And the things that did not matter, too. A dog has no use for fancy cars or big homes or designer clothes. Status symbols mean nothing to him…A dog judges others not by their color or creed or class but by who they are inside. A dog doesn’t care if you are rich or poor, educated or illiterate, clever or dull. Give him your heart and he will give you his. It was really quite simple, and yet we humans, so much wiser and more sophisticated, have always had trouble figuring out what really counts and what does not.”

This is why I love dogs.  Not as outside pets but as a part of our family.  All the dogs I’ve had in my life have been supporters in times of sorrow and stress.  There are times we sit and laugh at their antics and times we want to string them up a tree.  Some have driven me nuts but I feel like I’ve gotten more from them than I gave.  It doesn’t matter how much I weigh, what we spend our money on, where I live, or what choices I make in my life.  We feel jugement too much in our lives, it’s nice to get pure love from somewhere.  There are a lot of lessons to be learned there.

I know there are many of you that disagree with me, but that’s how I feel.  YAY FOR DOGS!

4 thoughts on “Good Book

  1. Well, I’ve never been a dog lover. They are okay for others just not for me. Glad you are one who can pick up the slack for me. 🙂

    It sounds like this book teaches the same message another few books I’ve read teach….to be more like our Savior. And show Christ like love for everyone! (Dogs included 😉

  2. I’m a huge dog lover…HUGE and I love this book as well. But I most likely will not see it a theater. I”ll be renting it and watching it by myself. If anyone has read the book, you’ll know why.

  3. Okay, so I am NOT a dog lover. I couldn’t finish this book. I tried, but I thought it was dumb. My friend (also a dog lover) recommended it and loved it. I guess I just don’t get it since I don’t really like dogs. Glad someone does though!

Leave a Reply

