To Make You Smile

section

A friend posted this on her blog and it was too good not to share!

Life is fun and crazy.  Right when I thought I had a good balance of school, family, JD, laundry, etc… JD decides he’s going to grow up and start getting into everything.  It’s been awesome to watch him go through this very mobile stage, but it’s taking more and more time away from mommy so I am not getting nearly as much studying done this term.  It’s going to be hard to keep up the 4.0 GPA.

He is starting to say Dad, JD and Mama a lot but I’m still doubting if he fully understands what they all mean.  He is also really into standing up a lot right now.  He will pull himself up on anything he can and get into things, pound on chairs, grab dvd’s, move stools, play with the dogs out the windows, grab for remote controls or phones… I’m sure this all sounds very familiar to a lot of you.

It’s been hitting me a lot lately how blessed we are to have Dieter and what a sweet and amazing spirit he is.  The more I learn in Anatomy the more I realize what a miracle it is that we have him and that I didn’t end up in a lot worse shape than I am now.  The Lord was truly watching out for us and our little family.  Anyone who’s been around JD can tell what a sweet soul he is and I’m sure many mothers feel the same way about their own kids.  I often feel unworthy of being his mom and pray that I can help teach him things that he will need to navigate this scary world we live in now.  What an awesome responsibility it is to be his mom.  My heart cringes when I think about how we won’t be able to have another, but one look at my crazy little boy and he softens out all the pain.  In relief society the other day a question was asked “What do you do to find peace?”  After listening to everyone I mentioned that when I truly need to feel comfort and peace I hold JD or just get down on the floor with him for a little while.

I just started to ramble a bit.  Apparently I needed to get some things off my chest.

4 thoughts on “To Make You Smile

  1. It is fun to see what they say and you recognize. I know they are talking a ton, it is just trying to figure out if it make sence or not.

    Good luck with school. let me knw if I can baby sit him for you.

  2. I’ve found the more science I learn, the more my testimony grows. Everything becomes such a miracle.
    I needed to read that. I have a lot of stresses that are a small part of the big picture but I’m letting them take over and it’s a good reminder to be grateful for the Lord’s presence in our lives.

  3. I understand what you are feeling. My boys are very special to me… it took a ton of hard work to have them.
    You are very right…Deeds is a special kiddo. I love to watch him explore, but my favorite part- when he leans his head towards mine and smiles REALLY BIG! 😉
    See ya tomorrow! 🙂

  4. My mom was saying the other day that every woman has a little empty spot inside her and the only time it’s full is when there’s a baby in the house.

    I think that’s why she had 9 of us ;-).

Leave a Reply

