3 Dollars

I was at Target this afternoon buying some colored pencils for my Anatomy class.  I found the shortest line behind a boy that couldn’t have been more than 10 years old.  The checker was quite old and it took me a little while to realize that they were deep in conversation.  I then took the scene in and realized that the boy didn’t have enough money for his purchase.  On the counter there was a wad of one dollar bills and piles of change.  The old man mentioned that he had counted it twice and the boy was very upset that he was short and didn’t know what to do.  He even said “My mom will kill me, I made her drive me down here so I could get it because I thought I had enough.”. I assume the mother was outside in the car waiting.

I watched for a while and instantly memories of saving all my nickles and dimes when I was younger came back to my mind.  By watching this boy I could tell that whatever it was he was buying was something he’s saved for and it was heartbreaking to watch him try and figure out what to do.  He was starting to pick up all his change when I asked the cashier how much the boy was short.  He mentioned it was just $2.32.  I made a split minute decision and handed over the cash needed.  I don’t think I will ever forget the look on that boy’s face.  After he left the old man told me thank you about ten times for helping his young customer.

It only cost me around 3 dollars to feel amazing for the rest of the day.  I have sat and wondered how often there are small things we could to that we don’t even think about.  It I’d been in a bigger hurry I might have been frustrated by how much time the boy was taking, without even noticing the situation.  I’m so glad I chose that line, and I’m glad I got the privilege to help.  I was even happy while doing anatomy homework!!

Massage Therapy School is still great.  Anatomy is going to be a handful, but it feels so good to really use my brain again.  It’s been out of the learning mode for far too long.  Tonight is Reflexology.

6 thoughts on “3 Dollars

  1. That was such a neat story! I only hope that that boy remembers the kindness of a stranger when he has the opportunity to help another out! I just read this story to the boys…great example. THANKS! 🙂

  2. That boy will remember you for the rest of his life. He will probably tell his kids and grandkids about the nice lady who saved him at the checkout in Target. 🙂

  3. What a awesome story. That kid will never forget what you did for him. See there are angels here, you just proved it!

  4. Good for you, Bob! I will try harder today to find places where I can help others too. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Mickie was great with Anatomy, not sure she remembers anything, but maybe she could help if you need someone.

    See…I’m already finding ways to help another…or have Mickie help another!! hahaha 😉

Leave a Reply

