Back to School

No, not Jeremy… me.  It’s been a long time since I was in a classroom.  I have wanted to go back for years but things just kept falling through.  The worst was right after we got married and I was finally enrolled full time and then got into a bad car accident 3 days before classes.  The thought of going to school part time for 8 years to get a degree doesn’t mesh well with out family situation.  Jeremy and I had a lot of discussions about my schooling.  While I’d love to go back to school, take my time, and enjoy taking classes in English and History the reality is that we needed me to get done quickly and help support our family.  Enter my Mothers Day gift.  After getting my massage I made the comment that I bet I’d enjoy massage therapy.  Next thing I knew Jeremy had gotten on line, requested information and we were looking into the program.  I didn’t mention anything here since I wanted to see how things panned out.

I’ve been quite stressed about our financial situation since JD was born.  I’m sure I’m preaching to the chior here, and that many of you are in the same boat.  No one ever grows up and thinks… by the time I’m 28 I want to be divorced, never finished school, remarried with a baby, and living with my parents!  Life sometimes goes where it needs to take you and you just need to have faith and hold on for the ride.  Thanks to our financial difficulties however we qualified for a LOT more grant money than I thought we would.  Last night I walked out of the school, all admitted and ready to start classes Aug. 4th.

The classes are 4 days a week in the evenings, so we are trying to work things out so the few nights Jeremy can’t take JD a family member can.  Graduation is next Aug, so the program is a year long.  I know a few of you out there that read this blog are Massage Therapists (Laurie… 😉 )  Any pointers would be great.  I’m feeling very humble at the moment and the thought of jumping into a classroom after not being in one for over 8 years is frightening, but very exciting.

16 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. Hey Bobbie, if you need help with JD I would love to watch him for you! Whatever I can do to help. Let me know! 🙂 Congrats on starting up school again. It’s a great feeling to have a degree. It wont be too long for ya now! Thats awesome!

  2. Well that is cool. I am glad you have found something that you like to do.

    We are just down the street from the school. You are more then welcome to drop JD off at our house. It really wouldn’t be a big deal.

  3. I have the best girls…don’t I? I’m glad they are willing to help out. As my way of helping out, I’ll let you practice on me whenever I’m out there!! 😉 Good Luck! You’ll be great. You are a good people person!

  4. Um….were you talking about me or are you divorced, remarried with a baby and living with your mom too? 🙂

  5. It’s too bad JD is such a difficult child or I would volunteer to watch him. As it is, that hour between when your school starts and when he goes to bed would be too hard on me! Good luck finding help:)

  6. Awesome!! I wanted to do that but my tendonitis wouldn’t allow it. Good for you! I’m trained in Touch for Health so if they’re still teaching it feel free to ask any questions 🙂

  7. Massages go for about a buck a minute ’round here, so sounds like a great job to me! Especially if you can set your hours around all those volunteers you have for JD! 🙂

  8. Good job lady! I am proud of you! I know you will do awesome. It’s hard work and probably hard to get used to, but you are a very disciplined person and I know you will do awesome!

  9. Woohoo! My sister’s sister-in-law is a stay-at-home mom who does massages out of her house. She charges a little less than average because she doesn’t have to pay for renting space or however that works. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

