My Sunshine!

JD is coming home tonight!  Nic sent me a text letting me know that one of his teeth finally cut through and it just made me miss him even more.  Jeremy suggested picking him up tonight instead of tomorrow and I was all too excited about the idea.  I’ve missed his little alien face so much.

When he was in the NICU I used to sing the song “You Are My Sunshine” to him all the time.  I would always choke up a little at the second verse:

The other night, dear,
As I lay sleeping
I dreamed I held you in my arms.
When I awoke, dear,
I was mistaken
And I hung my head and cried.

I would wake up in my hospital room and think about how my baby wasn’t able to be with me yet and it would make me cry.  I can never get over how blessed we were that I was able to stay so close to him while he was there, and how lucky we were that we had fast acting doctors.  I still sing the song to him often and I love those moments when he lets me just cradle him and sing while we stare at each other.

Here are some more pictures from his stay with Nic and Kelly.  He went to the zoo for the first time!  I’m sure he will miss being with their very active family.  I know it’s probably been fun for them to have a baby around.  I need to make it up to spend more time with them.

Posted in JD

4 thoughts on “My Sunshine!

Leave a Reply

