LDS or FLDS

I know I have many friends that read this blog that are not “Mormon” or part of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints like I am.  I would hope that I’ve been open enough that if they ever felt the need to email or call me when they have questions they would.  However in light of the recent headlines dealing with the FLDS church in Texas I thought I would post and clarify that the FLDS church is in no way affiliated with the LDS church.    The media is not always accurate in it’s information about this and I just wanted to do my part to educate a little.  While polygamy was once practiced in the LDS church, it was for a brief time and the church  officially discontinued polygamy in 1890.   So no, I don’t have more than one mom.  I also don’t have horns and a tail (yes I’ve been asked, good grief)  To read the LDS church’s official news release about the polygamy confusion you can go HERE.

Now that I’ve said that I wanted to share this site with everyone.  The artwork alone on the home page can just calm my heart.

I worry sometimes about the kind of world we’ve brought our son into.  Things seem so backward and morals are something that very few people even think about anymore.  I have such a strong belief and testimony of the gospel.  The strength from that testimony has gotten me through some very rough times in my short life.  Focusing on eternity and strengthening my family can help bring things back into perspective when I get discouraged.  The day Jeremy and I were sealed for time and all eternity and not just until death do us part… I can never fully describe the peace and beauty in that moment.  Kneeling across from him and looking into the eyes of a man I knew I would be spending eternity with was so amazing.  The only thing that can compare to it is when I had JD.  Crying over my baby while he was sleeping.  My heart was full of joy, a feeling I never thought I could feel so strongly.  Knowing that he was our boy, sealed to us for eternity.  A small child of God that had been sent to us to teach, love and learn from.  I felt an amazing sense of unworthiness, who was I to be trusted with such a precious soul.  I pray daily for strength, that I might be able to have as much faith in myself as I know the Lord has in me.  To know why I’m here, and where I am going is a huge blessing.  I have been blessed with an amazing family. I have watched my mother kneel by her bed in prayer every night for years, every single night.  My grandparents (on both sides) mean more to me than I can ever say.  The lessons I’ve been taught by them inspire me, with their kinds acts of service, strength, love and faith I am blessed and grow.

I just want to end by sharing my testimony with all of you.  Doing so via a blog is unorthadox I know, but I need to share.

I know The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is true.  I have a very personal testimony about the Prophet, that he is truly a man of God.  I love the strong leaders that we have and the focus on family.  I know prayers are answered and that we are blessed in many ways, even when we can’t always see it.  I am thankful for the pioneers that passed through tribulation so that I may have the freedoms I have, to be able to so easily share my testimony.  I know the Book of Mormon is truly another testament of Jesus Christ.  I type all this with a very humble heart. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Just to end this blog I wanted to share one of my favorite songs with all of you.  I hope it helps to touch you and maybe make today a little brighter and lighten your burdens a little.

3 thoughts on “LDS or FLDS

  1. I don’t what to say, Bobbie. You captured everything that races through my heart and mind when I look at my little Grayson and wonder what’s going to happen to his generation. I finally know what it means to pray earnestly.

Leave a Reply

