Peace of Mind

When I told the Pediatrician’s nurse about the fact that JD will only sleep on his stomach she was quite worried, along with any other doctor or nurse I tell. She said that they sometimes suggest an apnea monitor but they can be quite costly and it can be hard to get insurance to cover them. She then suggested an Angelcare monitor. I know a couple of you suggested them also. After a few more nights of me not sleeping (combo of pain and checking on JD) I begged Jeremy to let me go get one of these monitors. As far as a monitor is concerned it isn’t cheap, but if it works I believe it’s well worth every penny. A perk is that it can be used as a sound monitor too. I did a lot of research on the angelcare and a competitors monitor and we went out today and got the Angelcare Deluxe at Babies”R”Us. When I saw how small the pad that goes under the crib was I doubted if it would honestly pick up his breathing movements. I set the entire thing up and then once he was asleep I put him down and turned everything on. I waited about 20 minutes to make sure he was sound asleep, then I went into the room, picked JD up and held him just an inch or so above the mattress. Sure enough after 20 seconds a loud beeping sounded from the monitor in the room and the one parent unit in the kitchen I had turned on. I am still a bit shocked. I was still going to sleep in the nursery tonight just to make sure it all worked, but now I’m thinking I’ll sleep in my own bed. There are a lot of other nifty features as well on the monitor. You can set the alerts to be vibrations, beeps or both. You can activate a light ticking sound to show the movement. It will even tell you the temperature of the room the baby is in, and you can set a low and high temp. If it goes above or below those temperatures then an alarm will sound. I could go on… but I’m still reading the manual. If it continues to work so well I will recommend it to everyone I know. (Heather, psst)

angelcare.jpg

Other than picking up the monitor today, JD and I went to watch Jer referee a couple water-polo games. It was awesome to get out and JD was an angel baby the entire 2 hours. The mothers there were shocked at how good he was. He didn’t even freak out with all the buzzers and whistles. His eyes would go big and he’d look around for where the sound came from but he never once cried. We also ran a few other errands and I even got a chance to talk to my mother in law. I always seem to be busy when she calls and it was nice to chat with her for a minute.

I’m going to hit the sac, and hope that JD will sleep well and the monitors will work well. 🙂 I have a bunch to do in the morning to get JD ready for Trish and Michael and to get a bag packed for our little getaway.

6 thoughts on “Peace of Mind

  1. Sounds like quite the contraption! Too bad it doesn’t change diapers. I think that I heard that the Super Duper Deluxe 9000 version will as soon as it is released. Last I heard there were still a couple bugs in the wiping actions… ;0)

    Sounds like it would help to give you a nice piece of mind. I hope that it helps to get some sleep and comfort in knowing that he is warm & content. Good luck with the manuals!

  2. Congrats on the new purchase, I’m glad you got it. I hope it gives you many peaceful nights of sleep. There are enough things to worry about as the mom that the way your kid sleeps should not have to be one of them. Enjoy your weekend without the little guy!

  3. We have the previous version and I have been pleased! Be warned, it is VERY touchy, we have had to work on the sensitivity because it will go off if he gets too far off the pad sometimes. He is quite an adventureous sleeper, so that is about three times a week I sail out of bed and dash into his room!

    Oh, make sure you cut it off when you pick him up to change a diaper or first thing in the morning. That thing will scare the daylights out of you!

    I wish ours had the temperature thingy.

    Enjoy the anniversary!

Leave a Reply

