What a Pain

JD slept in 4-5 hour chunks last night.  It was wonderful, really fantastic.  I’m praying for a repeat tonight.  He still won’t sleep unless he’s on his tummy, so I guess it’s just something I’m going to have to deal with and stop freaking out about it.  I don’t usually sleep during the first chunk he’s asleep but I did fall asleep on the love seat during the second shift.  Sleeping on the loveseat is not terribly comfortable and I need to think of a new solution to make myself more confident.

For lunch today Mom, Dad, Steph, Parks, Bright, JD and Grandma G all went to lunch.  It was a lot of fun and the food was quite good.  

After lunch JD, Mom and I headed to the Doctor.  Mom had an appointment and I had a quick question about JD that I wanted a second opinion about.  Mom had his last time slot of the day, and it’s a good thing because the minute he walked in he started to ask me about my infection.  Then we asked the questions about JD.  He finally took care of mom (who was awesome about letting us crash her appt.) and then back to me for the infection again.  He decided that he wanted to try and drain the abscess before the surgeon sees me next week.  Apparently the sample of milk they took last week showed a rare strain of bacteria.  It explains why the first antibiotics didn’t work and why I’m on another round of the second set.  Mom and the Doctor had a good laugh about me not having anything medical be normal.  By this point his office staff and nurses were gone so he asked if we’d go over to the clinic and he’d drain the abscess there.  It was quite the process (I’ll post the details on the preggo blog).  I’m not sure how it’ll be tomorrow considering it’s beyond painful right now and the pain med’s haven’t even worn off yet.  I’m praying it won’t be too bad.  I still have the consult with the surgeon, here’s hoping the draining did enough to prevent major surgery.

 If you are wondering where Jer was during all this, he had his first water polo game of the season tonight… as a ref.  🙂  It was in Park City and from the sounds of it he enjoyed it.

4 thoughts on “What a Pain

  1. YAY! JD is sleeping for you. 🙂
    Boo, rare bacteria? Crazy…hope the ‘grils’ feel better today. 😉
    Good for Jeremy-glad he had a good time.

  2. “rare strain of bacteria”. Unnecessary use of the word “rare”. If it’s showing up on this blog, we might as well assume that it’s a 1 in 10000 occurence . . . Sheesh, I hope you start feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

