Car, Work, and Life

We were able to get our new car on Wednesday.  It’s a 2008 Hyundai Sonata.  I couldn’t have been happier with my old Sonata and they had such a great deal on the new 2008’s that it was hardly more expensive than a good used car so we took the plunge.  I never thought I would buy a brand new car but we are happy with our decision.  With their amazing warranty it’s nice to know we don’t have to fret about a car for the next few years!

2006_hyundai_sonata.jpg

 After a large amount of thought, prayer and talking Jeremy and I have decided that I should stop working.  It was a very hard choice, and giving up flight benefits is painful (I never did make it to Europe).  Ultimately we had to decide to do what is best for us and our little family.  I wasn’t looking forward to starting to work again and being away from JD during that time, but now that the decision is made it is down right scary.  That 4 hours a day would have been mom-free time, and I’m sure many stay at home mom’s out there understand how good that can be.   I am excited that I don’t have to worry about who will watch JD when I’m working if Jeremy can’t, and about having holidays off again.  It hopefully won’t be too big of a shock since I’ve been out of work since last fall.

Life has tossed us a lot of curve balls so far in 2008, some we’ve been public about… others that we haven’t… but I must say it’s a year of great blessings so far.  We have a beautiful healthy baby boy, and I can’t even tell you how that alone makes everything else seem less important.  Thank you all for standing by us during the hard year we had in 2007, we love you all!

8 thoughts on “Car, Work, and Life

  1. You won’t regret staying home with your baby, and he’ll sure be happy you did. Just make sure you still do things for yourself. Don’t be a martyr for your baby, because you won’t have as much to give him!

  2. On the upside, I certainly don’t think your employer will be surprised! 😀 I had so many employees go on maternity leave only to give me notice a couple months later! And then I became one who couldn’t bear to leave my baby either. I think what Sara said is soooooo true. That’s a hard lesson to learn… I had to finally pick up a new hobby (the website thingy) to try to be my own person again. Ha.

    About the car… I’m really relieved that all worked out. What a pain! But hey, sexy new car you got there!!

  3. Cool car!

    The only thing I have to say about the stay at home mother is that I am glad that we made that choice, but it can drive you crazy sometimes 🙂

  4. I thought the dealership in Utah was soooo much better than the one I’ve dealt with here. I’m glad you are happy with the car. And I’m glad you get to stay home with JD.

  5. Enjoy your time with JD. They start to grow up and tell you that they do not need you as much. I miss my little boys. Especially when they told me I was the best Mom they have ecer had! That still makes me giggle. 😛 LOVE YOU! Congrats on the car.

  6. Well, I have to say- that I’m a tad bit jealous despite the strains it may have on you say financially. I feel like even though it would be SO hard for me to stay home for financial reason, which just isn’t an option right now, I am going to be missing out on a lot of great bonding time with Ben. But I agree with all the other ladies, make sure you have time for YOU and that you keep YOURSELF alive and well. You’re just as important because it’s true you wont be able to give as much if you aren’t.
    that IS a sexy car! Did you get black? I am a really big fan of new cars…

Leave a Reply

