PACM

I’d done a lot of research today online for the Pregnancy Associated Cardiomyopathy.  At first it was very scary.  Apparently it’s rare enough that a lot of the information out there is quite old, and very bleak.  Finally I found this study and it helped to clear up a few things.  You see there is a condition known as Peripartum Cardiomyopathy (PPCM) that is unique to women.  PPCM happens during the final month of pregnancy or up to 6 months after birth.  I was confused because most of the information I could find  was about PPCM and yet I am not in my final month of pregnancy, and it’s not what the doctor called the condition.  Finally after digging, and finding the study I mentioned I got more information about Pregnancy Associated Cardiomyopathy (PACM).   It’s even more rare than PPCM so it posed a problem finding a lot of information.  I did find this site for support for PPCM, and from what I can find the two are almost exactly the same.  I’m counting myself lucky for being diagnosed.  Apparently not a lot of Cardiologists ever deal with the conditions, and if I’d never been sent to the Cardiologist it might have gotten worse or fatal before anyone knew it was there.

Jeremy and I talked a lot last night.  At first the only thing I could think about was the fact that we were told not to think about more children after Uno.  I wasn’t even focusing on the fact that it is something wrong with MY heart and it could kill me.  When that realization sunk in today is when I started to devour everything I could find online.  After reading all that I did, it makes sense why the cardiologist wasn’t waisting times getting tests done before the holidays.  I now understand why he is so concerned about getting me on medication asap.  I am thankful he didn’t scare me to death when talking to me about what was going on, I managed to scare myself enough today.  It was just that once he mentioned the baby thing I forgot and didn’t listen to much of what else he had to say.

I got the Holter Monitor taken off today (along with most of the skin the electrodes were attached too… ouch).  I won’t hear the results until next Thursday unless there is a major problem with what they see.  Tomorrow morning we head to the OB for our normal check up and we’ll see if he has anything to say about what they’ve found.  It’s hard when you are seeing 3 different practices to know who knows what, so we constantly find ourselves being the bearers of news to each Doctor.

I can’t thank you all enough for all your comments and prayers.  I truly do have friends and family that are the cream of the crop and we felt so blessed as we read all that you had to say.  I kept reminding myself that the Lord will not test me above what I am able to handle.  It’s just, once again, one of those times that He has much more faith in me than I do.

4 thoughts on “PACM

  1. I am having a hard time typing because my eyes keep watering. I LOVE YOU! Baby UNO is SOOOO LUCKY to have you as his mother and Jeremy as his father. Just think…he’s coming into a BIG family with a TON of heart! I can’t wait to love him, hug him, kiss him, cuddle him… 🙂

  2. Once again, I feel completely inadequate, trying to find something to say. I will reiterate what I have said since the doctor called you last week, how thankful I am that you found this out now and not sometime down the road in a, potentially, worse way. We love you and are here for you!

  3. You are in your hearts and our prayers. I wish there was more that we could do for you. If you ever need anything we are here. Just remember we love you and the Lord loves you and I know that you will be ok. Baby Uno is so lucky to have you and Jeremy as a mom and a dad. You are amazing people!

  4. Pingback: Waiting « Bobbie’s World - y dos mas

Leave a Reply

