Only Uno

Today has been a long day for us. I had decided not to blog about the Doctors appointment today but then after breaking down when telling people I decided it would be easier (like ripping off a band-aid) to just share what we learned today with everyone at once.

heart.gif

I have developed a rare condition of Pregnancy induced Cardiomyopathy. We were told weeks ago that this was a possibility but that it was so rare they weren’t overly concerned about it. My heart is a bit enlarged, and not expelling as much blood as it should be. It’s weakened and the worst case would be heart failure because of the weakness. Now before you panic let me break it down a little more. The normal human heart should expel 50-75% of the blood within when it pumps. Mine is currently expelling 45% and the fear is that with the last 10 weeks often being the most taxing on the body with weight gain and stress from the baby getting larger is that the number will drop even more. It’s been caught while it isn’t too severe, and that is a good thing.

holter.jpg

I’m currently hooked up to a Holter Monitor for 24 hours to monitor my heart. They are trying to rule out any other problems that could be causing the weakness. I was supposed to go in and get the monitor on Thursday but they decided they didn’t want to wait that long. The Cardiologist wants to be able to review the results before they close for the Holidays so they can get me on medication. There aren’t a lot of medication choices for what I’ve got that they can give to pregnant women, and we have to weigh the options and choices. I meet with the Cardiologist next Thursday unless they find anything else wrong with the Holter Monitor and he needs to see me before that. I also meet with my normal OB on Wednesday. Then next Tuesday we go back to the Periantologist (High-Risk Pregnancy Dr) so she can do another Ultrasound to check on Uno and make sure he is ok and not under any stress and that he’s getting enough blood, etc.

The hardest thing we learned today was that Uno will truly be our only one, what a perfect nickname we’ve given him. We were told that no matter what happens with the rest of this pregnancy we cant ever get pregnant again, the risk that I wouldn’t survive the pregnancy is too high. We have joked and talked about the fact that this would be our only pregnancy because it’s been so hard on us, but deep down we have always wanted more and it was a shock to hear that conceiving our own wouldn’t be an option again. They didn’t sugar coat anything but it was so surreal to hear, it was like they were telling someone else. I’m SO thankful that Jeremy could be there. I felt so broken and couldn’t stop apologising to him that it was this way. I know it’s not really, but I couldn’t help but thinking it’s all my fault. I can’t say enough about my husband. He is amazing and truly my rock. The trials we’ve had over the past year have brought us closer than I thought possible and I thank the Lord for that blessing. He has been working so hard these past couple months and yet still finding time to be at almost every appointment we’ve had to handle. I can only imagine how tired he is and yet he has never complained, just held me while I have. Thank you Jer. I love you so very much.

I will keep you all posted with the results and appointments that we have coming up. Right now it’s just shocking and we are trying to roll with the punches. We love you all.

15 thoughts on “Only Uno

  1. Bobbie, I am so sorry. Reading about what you are going through is so hard…I just wish I could be there to truly ‘talk’ to you. I just want to give you big hugs. We were VERY LUCKY to have Ty, and I understand the feelings you are going through right now. If you ever just want to vent or talk…you know I have a listening ear! I LOVE YOU!!!!!!

  2. Bobbie, I am so sorry. I don’t know what else to say, I’ve never even met you but I feel like I know you, and I can’t imagine what you’re going through. Please take care of yourself. Hugs.

  3. We’ll keep you and Uno in our prayers. I’m glad you’ve got a team of doctors monitoring both of you.
    I’m sorry you can’t even consider having any more. That really sucks 😦

  4. So I know the whole story and yet I am still sitting here crying. It’s like I said earlier, I know that there is nothing that I can do, but if I CAN do anything please let me know! We love you.

  5. Bobbie… I’m sorry to hear such sad news, but am SO grateful that you’ve had the change and will have the chance to bring this little Uno into the world! What a blessing and miracle child he has been- despite the grief and toil it’s put on your body. You are such a wonderful strong woman, and I admire your GREAT sacrifice for him. It’s something only a mother, you, could do. Keep yourself well. REST. Pray lots, put your names in the temple. Know that HF loves you and is watching over the three of you. Lots of love and hugs lady.

  6. That outpouring of thoughts and feeling really had such a wide spectrum of emotions. I really felt the disappointment and yet felt the love for little Uno. He’s already so special, sniff . . .

  7. Okay, I couldn’t type a comment, cause the keybaord keeps getting drips on it. I’m sooo happy that you will have little Uno…what a blessing he will be!

  8. Thank you for sharing this with us Bobbie. You will be in my prayers. You truly amaze me, I know I could not be as strong as you. Please take it easy, and remember we love you.

  9. Hi Bobbie – Let’s see if I can get past the “awaiting moderation” and tell you how much we care for you. Anyway, you’ve got alot to reconcile but a positive attitude and faith will get you to peace. I’m sure Little Uno is a truly outstanding spirit since Heavenly Father can only send you one this way.

  10. Wow, Bobbie, what a whirlwind this pregnancy has been! I am so sorry to hear your news but so glad they caught your cardiomyopathy before it became too severe.

    It’s heartbreaking to think you won’t be able to bear any children beyond Uno, but I love hearing what a wonderful support Jeremy is to you. You’re all still in our prayers.

  11. Our God is a God of miracles. Keep the faith and you will see miracles happen that you have never seen before. You and Uno are in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

