White Nectarine Jam

I had about 5 or 6 white nectarines sitting on my counter that I was afraid would go bad. They were so sweet that I just avoided them but I didn’t want to waste them. I searched all night for a recipie I could use them in and I finally found this one for Peach and Nectarine Jam.

whitenectarines.jpg

I liked this choice because I didn’t have any pectin handy and needed to be able to cook it slowly but for a long time to get it thick enough. I’m not a huge fan of stirring for an hour so I loved the thought of doing it in a crock pot. While I was a skeptic I also figured they were going to go bad if I left on the counter, so what’s the harm of trying.

The recipe called for slightly underripe fruit (more natural pectin that way), but I had fruit that was ripe. It wasn’t yet overripe but it was still anything but underripe. In addition to that I didn’t have any lemon juice so I substituted lime juice instead. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. I didn’t have the full 2 pounds once I cut up the fruit so I made adjustments accordingly to the sugar, and lime juice. Since the fruit was so sweet to begin with I added less sugar than I might have it they had been more tart.

dsc00692.jpg

I shocked how well it turned out. I left it a little chunky. More like a preserve but I like it that way. I can’t wait till it cools and see if it sets up any more. The flavor is quite good so even if it doesn’t set up where it’s easily spreadable I will totally try to reheat it a little and pour it on ice cream, or even use on pancakes. Who would have thought white nectarines would taste so yummy.

dsc00693.jpg

3 thoughts on “White Nectarine Jam

Leave a Reply

