I Couldn’t Stop

On Monday night I started to read a book a friend had loaned me. I’d heard it was quite good but I was a skeptic. It was a ‘Vampire love story’ and I just didn’t think it would float my boat. Many a book about vampires either scare me or they are smutty. My friend told me it was by an LDS author and it was a New York times best seller so I gave it a shot.

I couldn’t put it down.

I read ALL day yesterday. I slept Monday night for 2 hours before getting up and reading again. Once I was done with the loner book I was given I rushed out and tried to buy book 2 and 3. I got the 2nd book but the third is sold out everywhere. Apparently it was just released.

At 2:30am this morning I finished the 2nd book and finally drifted off to sleep. I had to order the 3rd book online and it should be here by the end of the week.

What about cleaning and packing you ask, NOTHING was done!! I love and hate finding books I love to read because I neglect everything. Good thing I didn’t get my hands on the third book, I now have a ton to do today to catch up and be ready for the inspection.

Here are the books and my Review of them so far:

twilight.jpg new-moon.gif eclipse.jpg

 

They books are written by Stephanie Meyer. You will find them in the Young Adult or Teen section of your local library or book store. (Yes this is the book I tried to find at the Library a few weeks ago). I enjoyed the way she transported my mind back into a high school setting and kept me drawn to the books. They were an easy read for me, and I’ve contemplated re-reading the first one again until the third book arrives. I found her characters easy to attach to and develop relationships with. One of my favorite things about these books is that there is not one uncomfortable racy part in them. There is love, and there is affection, but not smut. She keeps you swooning during parts where other authors think they have to get nitty gritty. It’s like an old movie to me, sexy doesn’t have to be immoral all the time! I would recommend these books in a heart beat. If you are looking for a thriller with nothing but action the entire time this is not the book for you. There are thrills (hello, Vampires?) but it has a wonderful balance of romance. I found intensity, laughter, sorrow, just about everything I wanted. I will be adding the entire series to my library right next to Harry Potter. Just like those books I’m sure I’ll read these over and over.

8 thoughts on “I Couldn’t Stop

  1. You know what’s interesting is that there was a HUGE article in Entertainment Weekly last week about her books being really good and she was a BYU taught LDS housewife and alla that.

  2. All my Luarels have read the series. They keep telling me to read it, alas I am not done with Harry Potter yet. But I’ll get to it in time. Glad to hear you liked it too, not just silly, little 16 year olds.

  3. I was so resistant to these because I do NOT like romances. But my little brother bought me the first for Christmas and I WAS HOOKED. They are just… FUN. I got my mom into them now too. THAT is funny too.

    My mom loves them… she LOVES love stories but doesn’t like Vampires. I love them and like vampires but not romance. Somehow they work for both.

    Now, warning, Eclipse IS a LITTLE more racy than the first 2, but still, well, Edward is a pretty dang MORMON-ish vampire! It’s still, umm, Moral. hee hee. And I liked it MUCHLY. Mmmm… may need to start the series over before the next is finished because that is a long ways off.

  4. Pingback: Weekend Update « GRANOLA GIRL

Leave a Reply

