Hi, I’m Bobbie the Moron.

Last night I was up late watching some TV. No big deal right. Well I flipped onto a channel and saw the Winchester Mystery House and watched for about 5-10 min. Just long enough to FREAK myself out. It was a TV show called Haunted History (or something like that). Well I don’t “do” ghost stories. I’ve been to the blasted house, my aunt and I even commented how we didn’t get any creepy ‘ghost’ vibes when we were in it… but this show got my late night mind spinning so much I couldn’t sleep at all! I can honestly say it was the worst night sleep I’ve gotten in a long time.

My hatred for ghost stories/scary stories goes way back. When I was younger and we would go to Girls Camp every summer I dreaded the camp fires. I would often sit by the fire and plug my ears while sitting cross legged. I had really long hair when I was younger, so I’d let it dangle over my shoulders so that people just thought I was sitting with my hands on my cheeks or something. I knew from very real experience that if I listened for even a brief moment I would not sleep a wink at night. It wasn’t until I was about 15 or 16 years old that I decided I’d had enough. When they said they were going to start the stories I simply stood up and said I wasn’t interested, that they scared me and I was going to go read or write in my journal instead. It was hard and I thought for sure I would get teased beyond belief the next day. Within 15 min my tent was full of about 10-15 girls and one adult that felt the same. We all wished we’d said something sooner. We had a great night playing games and chatting. I just don’t do ghost stories at all, can’t handle it. I think my imagination is just too much for them. It was one reason it took me about 4 months to handle working at Pirates when I started there… but that’s a whole other story.

The moral of this story is that I knew better and now I’m so tired I’m praying I fall quickly asleep tonight.

3 thoughts on “Hi, I’m Bobbie the Moron.

  1. Was that the show about the different ghost stories around San Francisco? It showed on the Travel channel or something…. But yeah, I saw that too! And I EXACTLY the same way you are. I refuse to watch horror flicks or allow anyone to tell me ghost stories… for very good reason.

  2. I can do startling scary movies, but not ghost/demon/gore scary movies. Anthony is so upset that I won’t go see 1408 with him. I just feel AWFUL after I watch. Scared and nightmares, plus I feel like I just chose to leave the Spirit when I watch them because no way would the Holy Ghost be in a theater for a movie tlike White Noise.

Leave a Reply

