Spring Cleaning Day 1

spring_clean_title.jpg

I feel like I’ve been run over by a truck.  To be honest I’ve never been run over by a truck (came close once) but I imagine it feels somewhat like this.  OK FINE, maybe I don’t actually feel that bad, but you get the point.

The first day of spring cleaning went well.  I will probably do a bit more tonight.  Straighten the Kitchen I think so that it’s one of my easier tasks tomorrow.  I was hoping to get a bit more done but I had forgotten about laundry.  We don’t have a washer and dryer so a lot of my day was spent going to our little laundry mat every 30 min.  I did learn a trick (I saw it a lot in Guatemala), I would carry the laundry basket on my head and just hold it still with one hand.  I’m sure people looked at me like I was nuts but it was SO much easier than trying to carry the heavy thing in my arms.

Today I did:

  • Bathroom
  • 1/2 of the bedroom
  • Entry way
  • Washed all sheets
  • Washed all towels
  • Washed all floor rugs
  • 1/2 our Laundry (Jer’s gonna do the other half YEA!)

Here are some before and after shots!

bathroombefore1.jpgbathroomafter1.jpg  bathroombefore2.jpgbathroomafter2.jpg  bathroombefore3.jpgbathroomafter3.jpg     bedroombefore1.jpgbedroomafter2.jpg  bedroombefore2.jpgbedroomafter1.jpg

 

I still have:

  • Family Room
  • Patio
  • Kitchen
  • Office/Dining Area
  • 1/2 of the Bedroom

I’m honestly not sure I’ll get it all done tomorrow.  The little corner I use for my office will be quite a task, as well as the second half of the bedroom.  I’m determined to get rid of any excess clothing we need.  When I went through the bathroom I tossed all kinds of stuff.  Lotions I’ve been carting around for years, old bubble bath, broken curling irons, etc.  It’s nice to feel de-cluttered.  I also spent time on my hands and knees scrubbing little corners of the entry way and the bathroom floor.  We got this little gadget to help with the cleaning, wow it’s awesome.  I was a skeptic at first (I usually just use an old tooth brush) but it honestly did SUCH a great job! Well I’m off to shower (in my amazingly clean shower), and then straighten the kitchen so I can get dinner ready.

Peace, Love, and CLEAN!

5 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning Day 1

Leave a Reply

